It was…

It was the night we first met, that something sparked. Who is this? Who are you? Why can’t I look away? I couldn’t look down because of the side effects of my pills. I couldn’t observe the beauty before me.

It was every time after that I saw you so beautiful. It was the way my friend said he was still in love with you that made me shrink away. I stayed far from you fearing the spark in my heart would catch fire to the dry grass encasing it.

 

It was every day after he left that you grew like flowers on a dead tree. I had been gone for years. Over time, as I saw you less the crushing would wax and wane.

 

It was the night you started coming over from loneliness of your absent roommate. The spark came back. You were someone important to me. It was the night you started coming over alone and found comfort in my shoulder. I asked if there was any ulterior motives here. You said no.

It was the night you said you lied. Our first kiss, you went for lips and I went for forehead. I missed.

It was the first time you said I love you. I saw something so unbelievably beautiful.

It is every night and every day since, I love you.

Leave a Reply

